Calorie counting

Calorie counting doesn’t work for me. I try and use myfitnesspal. I really try. I have really only been trying to count them for the last few months but I think I am done for now.  I feel like it’s so many things to focus on and I become obsessed with my calories. I eat better and don’t stress as much if I’m just watching portions and eating healthy. I do better in general without having to worry about every little calorie. Counting them isn’t practical for me either and I want to do something I can live with for the rest of my life. Lol calorie counting is not something I can do for forever. I may try it again down the road but for now I am going to stick with what works.

image

image

11 thoughts on “Calorie counting

  1. I have been on MFP a few times, and it did help me in some ways, but hindered in others. It helped me to see the calories in things I didn’t realize (donuts, for one), but it also was misleading in that users could put in anything they wanted without oversight, so you found things like a tuna salad sandwich with no sodium. As the database grew, trying to pick your way through that minefield took more and more time. So now I’ve just gone to carrying a handwritten food diary in my purse, and logging everything. No calories, but in my head I know give or take how bad things are, and I try to focus on “Is this a product you would find in nature?”. My own version of clean eating, I guess.
    I hope you find a method that helps you and isn’t so cumbersome.

  2. Perhaps you could try mapping a meal once and keeping a journal of what meals are safely in your calorie budget. I try to keep mine between 400 and 500 calories. I don’t log calories anymore because I just know that my meals are within my zone because I’ve had them before. After a certain point you dont havecto pay attention snymore cause its all safe. Does that make sense? Its a bit difficult to explain. Good luck!

  3. Calorie counting does suck! I’d be more worried about the TYPE of calories you’re consuming, not the amount. Usually if you’re getting the right type of calories, you’ll feel full and your body will tell you that you don’t need anymore.
    I love following your blog, you have some awesome posts! Keep it up! I know you’re inspiring others too who are on the same journey 🙂

  4. Calorie counting isn’t something I can do either. It sucks because I know that it can be beneficial, but I don’t have the patience or inclination to sit there and enter all the stuff in that a recipe uses. I just track what I eat and leave it at that. Be blessed.

  5. I feel the same way. I have been using MFP since April. There are days where I don’t log my calories at all, but I will at least use it to log my exercise and how often I take my vitamins. I totally understand about how keeping track of every calorie can be counterintuitive of trying to NOT focus on food. Good luck to you!

  6. I feel the same way! I used sparkpeople for awhile, but it led to me obsessing over every little number whether it be the calories themselves, the scale, or my measurements. It’s just not good for my mental health.

  7. Calorie counting sends me down a slippery slope into panic and rebellion that doesn’t end well, so I’ve learned it doesn’t work for me either. Obviously, I have to change my eating habits. If they were already awesome I wouldn’t be in the place that I am, but I am finding what works for me and what doesn’t. Sometimes it’s trial and error.

Leave a Reply

